Mandatory Use of Low Sulfur Fuel

This is a system to reduce sulfur dioxide concentrations in Seoul, Seoul Metropolitan area, and major cities by ensuring only fuel oil with low sulfur content can be supplied and used. Different sulfur content standards apply depending on the region or type of facility. The system began in 1981 by supplying diesel fuel and heavy fuel with a sulfur content of 0.4% or less and 1.6% or less, respectively. Since then content standards have been tightened and applicable regions have been increased.

Since 2012, only diesel fuel with a sulfur content of 0.1% or less must be supplied and used throughout the country. Heavy fuel must have a sulfur content of 0.3% or less in a total of 58 local governments, including Seoul and the six other special and metropolitan cities and Jejudo; 0.5% or less in the 104 si and gun areas, and 1.0% or less in other parts of the country.

Prohibition on the Use of Solid Fuels

Air pollution in the major cities became severe when coal use was recommended after the oil shock of the 1970s. Consequently, since 1985, this prohibition has banned the use of coal, coke, firewood, charcoal, and other solid fuel in regions that exceed or may exceed environmental standards. It is being applied to an increasing number of regions, and since 1999, the use of solid fuels has been banned in a total of 20 regions, which includes Seoul and the six metropolitan cities and 13 si areas of Gyeonggi-do.

Mandatory Use of Clean Fuels

This is a system to mandate the use of clean fuels (LNG, LPG, etc.) that emit almost no pollutants depending on the region in order to further reduce air pollution in large cities after the introduction of the systems to supply low sulfur fuel and prohibit the use of solid fuels. It began with compulsory replacement of fuels used in commercial boilers in Seoul Metropolitan City and by the Incheon Thermal Power Plant. It has been applied to an increasing number of regions and facilities, and since 2000, the use of clean fuels has become compulsory for commercial boilers above a certain size, multi-unit dwellings, regional heating and cooling facilities, and power generation facilities in a total of 37 regions, including the seven special and metropolitan cities.

For more information, please contact us :
Public Relations Team  (   
Last modified : 2017-12-12 08:38

Survey of visitors' satisfaction
We would like to know how satisfied you are with our website in an attempt to provide more improved service. Please rate how satisfied you are with our website.